Friday, June 6, 2008


Leganes is politically subdivided into 18 barangays.

  • M.V. Hechanova (Balagon)
  • Bigke
  • Buntatala
  • Cagamutan Norte
  • Cagamutan Sur
  • Calaboa
  • Camangay
  • Cari Mayor
  • Cari Minor
  • Gua-an
  • Guihaman
  • Guinobatan
  • Guintas
  • Lapayon
  • Nabitasan
  • Napnud
  • Poblacion
  • San Vicente


Leganes was once known as "Valencia".

When two unrelated families with the same last name began to claim that the town was named after their ancestor, and the fighting eventually led to deaths on both sides. The Spanish Governorate put members from each family in jail and banished an equal number of both families to other provinces. To ensure that the argument would remain moot, they renamed the town Leganes after a city in Spain. Historians claim that the Spanish interference helped incite the indigenous population against the Spanish occupation that was starting to take root at this time.



Leganes is a 4th class municipality in the province of Iloilo, Philippines. It is located 11 km north of the capital Iloilo City. Like most Philippine towns that sprawl outward from the capital, is made up of houses, farms and light agricultural industry. The major throughofare runs right through the center of the town. According to the 2000 census, it has a population of 23,475 people in 4,533 households.