Tuesday, February 23, 2010

Leganeans once again rule 38th Paraw Regatta competition

The seamanship of seafarers from the town of Leganes has yet to worn out through the years as Victor Gordoncillo won over against 49 other contestants in the category A in the paraw sailing contest Sunday.

Gordoncillo of Barangay Camangay won the 1st prize in the category A after his paraw Piranha 3 finished the race first. The 16-feet paraw was built by Winnie Demetillo.

The 1st prize winner in the category A of the paraw sailing competition received P15,000 cash prize. The 2nd place went to paraw John-John owned by Oscar Espinosa of Sto. Niño Sur, Arevalo and built by Henry Tañagras.

The 3rd prize winner is Mitch Angel of Michael Anthony Tangub of Talayer Street, Tigbauan and 4th Joseph 1 of Rogelio Gareza of Parara Sur, Tigbauan.

The Espinosas of Sto. Niño Sur, Arevalo ruled in the Category B. Paraw entry named Marjhonec of Honorato Espinosa of Sto. Niño won the first place. The paraw was built by Henry Tañagras.
Oscar Espinosa’s paraw named Kristine, also built by Henry Tañagras got the 2nd place. While, Cherelyn of Federico Tantiado landed on the 3rd place. The 4th place went to Toto RJ of Rogelio Gareza of Parara Sur, Tigbauan.

The first prize winner in the Category B received a cash prize of P20,000. The 2nd, 3rd and 4th prize winners received cash prizes of P16,000, P13,000 and P10,000 respectively.

Paraws in the Category A have the waterline length of 16 feet and below. The organizers strictly imposed the use of indigenous materials for paraws hull and outrigger.

Paraws with waterline length of 16.1 feet up to 22 feet are classified under the Category B. The organizers strictly imposed the use of wood as hulls. They allowed the use of aluminum for outriggers.

The paraws were classified into two, the painted and unpainted. Aside from the sailing race, there was also a competition of painted paraws. The Pinta Layag event organizer determined the painted paraw.

The race course for both category A and B had an approximate distance of 23.8 kilometers which started at Tatoy’s Manokan and Seafoods in Sto. Niño Sur, Arevalo.

The paraw race also covered Iloilo City to Fort San Pedro to Sto. Rosario Buenavista to Nagaba Point Jordan and Bundolan Point. The race had Tatoys Manokan and Seafood as its finished line.

In other Paraw Regatta related events, the winners in the 6th Sinamba sa Paraw Regatta are the Grupo Puerte Bayle (champion), 1st runner up Mesa Latinos and Grupo del Oeste as 2nd runner up.

This year’s Miss Iloilo Paraw Regatta is Stephanie Juanitas of the University of Iloilo. The 1st runner up is Pauline Asegurado of West Visayas State University and 3rd runner up is Aerille Gift Salabao of AMA Computer College.

source: Maricar M. Calubiran, The New Today