Friday, August 21, 2009


School: Leganes National High School
Location: Leganes, Iloilo
Current Position: Master Teacher I
Field of Specialization: English with special training on ICT
No. of Years Teaching: 23 years

Mr. Pinongcos, as an Intel Teach National Trainers awardee, has conducted trainings for the Intel Teach Training Program at the national, regional, and division levels. The project helps teachers who have little or no computer experience acquire basic technology literacy skills and introduces them to 21st century approaches to teaching and learning. Mr. Pinongcos also serves as an ICT trainer for out-of-school youths and barangay officials in the town of Leganes. One of the innovative teaching approaches he developed is the “Barangay Ko Tipigan Ko” (I care for my barangay), a form of learning that promotes social and community awareness among the students in which they adopt a barangay and conduct an assessment survey on its strengths and weaknesses. The students then present their findings and propose solutions to the different problems they have identified in the community before LGU and barangay officials. Mr. Pinongcos is also an active Extraordinary Minister of the Holy Communion in the Parish of St. Vincent Ferrer, administering to the sick and the elderly every Sunday and feast days.

Source: Metrobank Foundation Inc.

Metrobank Foundation Names Outstanding Teachers for 2009

Eight public school teachers from the elementary and secondary levels, including two professors from the University of the Philippines-Diliman and University of San Carlos in Cebu, emerged as winners in this year’s Metrobank Foundation Search for Outstanding Teachers.

In this 25th year of the Search, Dasmariñas, Cavite, Olongapo City, Tulunan, North Cotabato, and Leganes, Iloilo produced their first awardees in the Search.

This year’s awardees for the elementary level are: Mrs. Lourdes L. Matan of Mag-Ubay Elementary School in Calbayog City; Mrs. Gemma G. Cortez of Dasmariñas Elementary School in Dasmariñas, Cavite; Mr. Benjamin M. Martinez of San Sebastian Elementary School in Tarlac City; and Mrs. Eva B. Imingan of Nellie E. Brown Elementary School in Olongapo City.

The awardees for the secondary level are: Ms. Shena Faith M. Ganela of Philippine Science High School-Western Visayas Campus in Iloilo City; Mrs. Rochelle D. Papasin of Philippine Science High School-Southern Mindanao Campus in Davao City; Mrs. Ma. Petra A. Romualdo of Minapan High School in Tulunan, Cotabato; and Mr. Zoilo J. Pinongcos, Jr. of Leganes National High School in Leganes, Iloilo.

For the higher education level, the awardees are: Dr. Dina Joana S. Ocampo of the University of the Philippines-Diliman; and Dr. Ramon S. Del Fierro of University of San Carlos in Cebu City.

“The Metrobank Foundation believes that by giving recognition to the outstanding qualities, achievements and contributions of our beloved educators, we promote a sense of pride in and provide inspiration to the teaching profession and to the rest of the society,” said Metrobank Foundation president Aniceto M. Sobrepeña. “For over 25 years, we have envisioned our awardees to serve as infrastructure for continuing excellence and to provide greater impact on their respective spheres of influence,” he continued.

The winners were selected from 173 nominees coming from various public and private educational institutions in the Philippines, of which 40 qualified as regional finalists. The regional finalists underwent interviews and teaching demonstrations before the members of the preliminary board of judges identified for each category, of which 20 were selected to become the national finalists. The national finalists then faced the Final Board of Judges for this year’s Search co-chaired by Supreme Court Associate Justice Teresita Leonardo-De Castro and Muntinlupa City representative Congressman Rozzano Rufino B. Biazon. Also serving as judges were: Chairman Ricardo L. Saludo of the Civil Service Commission (CSC); Governor Miguel Rene A. Dominguez of Sarangani Province; Dr. Ma. Cristina D. Padolina, President, Centro Escolar University (CEU); Ms. Cecilia L. Lazaro, founding president, PROBE Productions, Inc.; and Dr. Cecilio K. Pedro, President and CEO, Lamoiyan Corporation.

President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo will confer gold medallions to this year’s awardees at Malacañan Palace on September 3, 2009. They will also be presented with plaques and cash amounting to Php 300,000 each during the formal awarding ceremonies at Metrobank Plaza in Makati, which will serve as the highlight of the 47th anniversary celebration of the Metropolitan Bank & Trust Company on September 4, 2009.

This year’s winners will join the rank of 276 outstanding teachers, who have been honored by the Foundation for the last 24 years. They automatically become members of the Network of Outstanding Teachers and Educators or NOTED, an honor society of outstanding teachers committed to nurturing a culture of excellence and service among educators through professional development, publications, research, and advocacy in active partnership with government and non-government organizations.

Now on its 25th year, the Search bestows honor upon the teaching profession by according special recognition to teachers who manifest profound commitment to the development of the youth through exemplary competence, remarkable dedication to their work, and an effective educational leadership.

The Metrobank Foundation is the corporate social responsibility arm of the Metrobank Group of Companies chaired by Dr. George S.K. Ty. Over the last 30 years, it has promoted a culture of excellence among Filipinos through its various programs notably the Search for Outstanding Teachers, the Metrobank Art and Design Excellence, The Outstanding Philippine Soldier, Country's Outstanding Policemen in Service, the Metrobank Math Challenge, and College Scholarship Program. The Foundation also has a grants program that assists NGOs and government in the fields of education, healthcare, and the arts. Metrobank Foundation celebrates Filipino excellence and presents wellsprings of hope in the future of our nation.

source: Metrobank Foundation Inc.